Click image for more award winners

Golfer Lydia Ko is the 2013 Halberg Award Winner

The Westpac Halberg Awards officially began in 1963 after Murray Halberg resurrected the 'New Zealand Sportsman of the Year' dinner to honour sporting excellence, and raise vital funds for his newly established Trust to benefit disabled children.

Today the Westpac Halberg Awards remains the country's pre-eminent event to honour and celebrate sporting excellence, and generate vital funding for the Halberg Disability Sport Foundation.