55th Halberg Awards Nominees

The nominees for the 55th Halberg Awards are:


2017 Halberg Award (supreme)


No nominees - the Halberg Award finalists are selected from the winners of the following categories:

  • Team of the Year
  • Halberg Disability Sport Foundation Disabled Sportsperson of the Year
  • Sportsman of the Year
  • High Performance Sport New Zealand Sportswoman of the Year

Last year's winner :
Lisa Carrington

High Performance Sport New Zealand Sportswoman of the Year


  • Ali Riley (Football)
  • Amy Satterthwaite (Cricket)
  • Annabelle Anderson (Stand Up Paddleboard)
  • Gase Sanita (Mixed Martial Arts)
  • Lisa Carrington (Canoe Racing)
  • Lydia Ko (Golf)
  • Phillis Meti (Golf)
  • Portia Woodman (Rugby Union)
  • Roisin Giles (Taekwon-Do)
  • Sarah Goss (Rugby Union)

Last year's winner :
Lisa Carrington (Canoeing)

Sportsman of the Year


  • Aaron Gate (Cycling)
  • Aiken Hakes (Croquet)
  • Beauden Barrett (Rugby Union)
  • Brendon Hartley (Motorsport)
  • Chris Wood (Football)
  • Ethan Mitchell (Cycling)
  • George Bennett (Cycling)
  • Jason Wynyard (Wood Chopping)
  • Joel Henare (Shearing Sports)
  • John Kirkpatrick (Shearing Sports)
  • Kane Williamson (Cricket)
  • Michael Venus (Tennis)
  • Peter Michael (Ice Speed Skating)
  • Robbie Manson (Rowing)
  • Ross Taylor (Cricket)
  • Sam Gaze (Cycling)
  • Tom Walsh (Athletics)

Last year's winner :
Mahe Drysdale (Rowing)

Halberg Disabled Sportsperson of the Year


  • Corey Peters (Para alpine skiing)
  • Holly Robinson (Para athletics)
  • Jessica Hamill (Para athletics)
  • Keegan Pitcher (Para athletics)
  • Sophie Pascoe (Para swimming)
  • Stephen Hills (Para cycling)
  • William Stedman (Para athletics)

Last year's winner :
Liam Malone (Para Athletics)

Team of the Year


  • All Whites (Football)
  • Black Ferns (Rugby Union)
  • Black Ferns Sevens (Rugby Union)
  • Black Sox (Softball)
  • Brooke Donoghue & Olivia Loe (Rowing)
  • Emirates Team NZ (Yachting)
  • Men’s Double – Chris Harris & John Storey (Rowing)
  • Men’s Team Pursuit – Regan Gough, Pieter Bulling, Dylan Kennett, Nick Kergozou (Cycling)
  • Men’s Team Sprint – Eddie Dawkins, Ethan Mitchell, Sam Webster (Cycling)
  • NZ Shearing and Woolhandling Team (Shearing Sports)
  • NZ International Taekwon-Do Team (Taekwon-Do)
  • NZ Under 21 Team (Netball)
  • Women’s 49erFX - Alex Maloney and Molly Meech (Yachting)
  • Women’s Coxless Pair – Grace Prendergast & Kerri Gowler (Rowing)
  • Women’s K2 – Lisa Carrington & Caitlin Ryan (Canoe Racing)
  • Women’s Team Pursuit – Racquel Sheath, Rushlee Buchanan, Kirstie James, Jaime Nielsen, Michaela Drummond (Cycling)

Last year's winner :
Men's 49er - Peter Burling and Blair Tuke (Yachting)

Buddle Findlay Coach of the Year


  • Anthony Peden (Cycling)
  • Dale Stevenson (Athletics)
  • Gary Hay (Rowing)
  • Glenn Moore (Rugby Union)
  • Gordon Walker (Canoe Racing)
  • Mark Sorenson (Softball)
  • Murray Jones and Ray Davies (Yachting)
  • Nathan Handley (Yachting)
  • Simon Finnel (Cycling)
  • Stu MacDonald (Para cycling)

Last year's winner :
Gordon Walker (Canoeing)

Emerging Talent Award


  • Anna Leat (Football)
  • Bianca Koper (Taekwon-Do)
  • Chris Arbuthnott (Para swimming)
  • Daniel Hillier (Golf)
  • Ellesse Andrews (Cycling)
  • Felix Webby (Croquet)
  • Hannah Knighton (Triathlon)
  • Josh Armit (Yachting)
  • Kanah Andrews-Nahu (Olympic Weightlifting)
  • Matthew MacDonald (Rowing)
  • Nico Porteous (Freeski)
  • Olivia McTaggart (Athletics)
  • Tiana Metuarau (Netball)

Last year's winner :
Campbell Stewart (Cycling)

New Zealand's Favourite Sporting Moment



Last year's winner :
Eliza McCartney (Athletics)

Sport New Zealand Leadership Award


No nominees announced. Winner selected by Sport New Zealand.


Last year's winner :
Sophie Pascoe (Para swimming)

Lifetime Achievement Award



Last year's winner :
Myra Larcombe (Swimming)

New Zealand Sports Hall of Fame inductee


No nominees. Inductees selected by the New Zealand Sports Hall of Fame. 


Last year's winner :